

9(2)(a

Tēnā koe 9(2)(a)

Thank you for your email of 7 July 2021 to Oranga Tamariki—Ministry for Children (Oranga Tamariki), requesting the following information under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act):

I have made a similar request last year, see link below,

https://fyi.org.nz/request/13317-oranga-...

Can you please provide me with an update membership list for the panel and their bio.

Also, if there are changes in membership, can you please let me know how you call for nominations and did you receive any nominations from the public.

What's the pay rate for its panel member and do you reimburse their travel cost

I have provided an updated list of panel members below.

Name	Position
Mary Slater	Executive Chair
Gina Langlands	Member
Paul von Dadelszen	Member
Shenagh Gleisner	Chair
Dr Mike Ross	Member
Liz Tanielu	Member
Leith Comer	Member
Dr Te Tuhi Robust	Member

On 31 March 2021, the terms for all then existing panel members including the chair, and executive chair expired. Two members of the panel were not reappointed. Oranga Tamariki Chief Executive Sir Wira Gardiner called for expressions to fill those vacancies.

I have also attached a copy of the most recent biographies of the panel members.

The panel are paid in line with the Cabinet Fees Framework. There have been no changes to the fees' framework since your last request. If members are travelling from outside of Wellington, all travel is booked and paid by Ministry. All actual costs that members spend that is directly related to CE Panel matters are reimbursed.

If you wish to discuss this response with us, please feel free to contact OIA\_Requests@ot.govt.nz.

If you are not satisfied with this response, you have the right to ask an Ombudsman to review this decision. Information about this is available at <a href="https://www.ombudsman.parliament.nz">www.ombudsman.parliament.nz</a> or by contacting them on 0800 802 602.

Nāku noa, nā

Steve Groom

General Manager Public, Ministerial and Executive Services

# Oranga Tamariki Chief Executives Advisory Panel for Complaints Members

### Mary Slater -Chair

Mary has a background in social work, union organising and advocacy, and (for the last 16 years) in various roles in the Public Service in Wellington and in Melbourne, Australia. Mary works as a restorative justice facilitator in the criminal justice system, and has a deep interest in supporting the development of restorative practices in the Public Service. She occasionally provides advice to Oranga Tamariki – Ministry for Children to support its commitment to introduce restorative practice into its Youth Justice services. Mary is also the Panel's Executive Chair, which is the key link between the Panel and Oranga Tamariki.





## **Gina Langlands - Panel Member**

Gina Langlands is an experienced executive level registered nurse who has worked predominantly in the residential aged care sector.

She has had extensive experience in nurse leadership and development, organisational quality management and complaint resolution.

Gina played an integral part in the formation of the NZ Dementia Co-operative and was Deputy Chair. A former member of the Nurse Executives of NZ, she has contributed to numerous sector advisory committees and improvement groups.

Shenagh Gleisner is a qualified social worker. She has been a public sector Chief Executive and has held many senior roles across the state sector and as a director of a private sector consultancy firm. She serves on a number of Governance Boards and has undertaken many planning and review roles in her capacity as a consultant, including in the Pacific. Her voluntary work includes guiding in an eco-sanctuary. Shenagh was seconded in December 2005 to be Acting Chief Executive of Child, Youth and Family for a short period.







## Liz Tanielu – Panel Member

Liz is dedicated to creating sustainable, positive change for families and communities who have experienced hardship in their life time. Her professional career includes over twenty years in various management roles across a range of agencies in the state sector. Her recent roles have focussed on system transformation, leading crossagency multidisciplinary teams to achieve government priorities. They include child and youth wellbeing through the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet and presently as a chief advisor to the Joint Venture of ten agencies on eliminating family violence and sexual violence. Liz has extensive governance experience both as a Chair and member for boards of Crown Entities, non-government, philanthropic and community led organisations. Liz has a BA in political science and a Master in Business Administration.



## Paul von Dadelszen QSO - Panel Member

Paul von Dadelszen was a Judge of the District and Family Courts from 1987 until 2013. In addition to being an Administrative Family Court Judge from 1994 to 2011, he was Acting Principal Family Court Judge on a number of occasions between 2005 and 2010. Positions held prior to appointment to the Bench included President of the Hawke's Bay District Law Society, Chancellor of the Anglican Diocese of Waiapu and as a member of the Hawke's Bay Hospital Board. In 2013/2014 he was Chair of a Ministerial Expert Advisory Group on Family Violence. He has been a member of the Family Violence Death Review Committee and Board member of the Families Commission. Paul has published articles in international and local family law journals and delivered papers at local and overseas seminars and conferences. He is married with three children and seven grandchildren.

### **Dr Michael Ross - Panel Member**

Dr Michael Ross (Ngāti Hauā) is a lecturer in Māori studies at Victoria University. Michael spent many years working with whānau and young people as a Youthworker before further study led to roles in education. These are connected by his ongoing interest in Māori community development. He has sat on boards for youth and community organisations, whānau, marae, iwi committees and trusts. Mike is married with four children.





## **Leith Comer – Panel Member**

Leith Comer is a retired Army Officer and a former senior public servant He was the Chief Executive of the Ministry of Maori Development for 12 years from February 2001.

He is the Chairman of Te Mana o Ngati Rangitihi Trust and has been his Iwi lead treaty negotiator. He is Chairman of the Ministerial Veteran's Advisory Board and the Rotorua Golf Club. He is a member of Toi Ohomai Board.

He now lives in Rotorua and was awarded the Oueen's Service Order for services to Maori, the State and local government in 2018.

### **Dr Te Tuhi Robust - Panel Member**

Dr Robust currently holds the position of Professional Director, Consultant at Waiomio Downs (Partnership), Kawakawa, Te Taitokerau. He is from Northland and his tribal affiliations Ngāpuhi Nui Tonu; Ngāti Porou.

Dr Robust is also currently Chair and Trustee on several tribal and whanau trusts whose activity include iwi/ tribal development that specifically focuses on its relationship to the Crown and iwi. Dr Robust brings over 45 years of experience in health and education sectors.

